Inspiration, Uncategorized

When Hurting in a Relationship, Say These Words

photo of people near wooden table
Photo by fauxels on Pexels.com

Father, only your love is perfect, only your love. Focus my heart on
the joy of your holy, perfect love because in this world human love
will fail. I am a sinner who cannot love others perfectly. Those who
love me will fail and hurt me because they too are sinners. I know
it is true, but Lord, I am overwhelmed and tired of this heartache.
It feels like nothing else matters, because this isn’t right and I can’t
get it out of my mind. Sin is so ugly and destructive, and there are
so many hurts. Sharp words echo in my mind, piercing my heart
over and over. My heart races as I imagine conversations that have
never happened. Hateful glances, lists of past failures; it just gets
bigger and bigger in my mind and is so heavy in my heart. I just
want healing. I need your love and comfort. Jesus, can you just
reach in my heart and remind me of your grace? Heal my torn
heart with your compassion. Tell me again how you wept and
ached over relationships that crushed you when you lived here.
Remind me of your suffering in betrayal, denial, and death. You
know this pain; you lived through it. But more than that, you died
to pay for all this ugly sin. You gave your life because we all need
a Savior. And you lived a perfect life and covered me with your
righteousness. All of this is atoned for with your blood. Fill me
with your grace so I can be strong and forgiving. Drive me to your
Word so I can be guided by your wisdom. Wash me clean and
renew my heart so I long for what is right in your eyes. Calm my
heart, Lord. Own it and rule it. Put your love in my heart and fill
my mind with thoughts that are pleasing to you. Teach me again
to rest in your salvation and entrust my burdens to your care.
Comfort me, Jesus; in your holy name I pray, Amen.
—Lola Moreno

This post is an excerpt from The Woman’s Book of Prayer by Becca Anderson, which can be found at Amazon and Mango Media.

Leave a comment